Secretaries of the Board of Longitude

The Board of longitude was in existence from 1714-1828. During this time, the Board had just six secretaries, the first of whom, John Ibbetson was appointed in 1763

The secretaries were

1763–1782       John Ibbetson*

1782–1795       Sir Harry Parker*

1795-1798        William Wales

1798 -1810       George Gilpin

1810-1818        Thomas Hurd

1818-1828        Thomas Young

*Date of resignation of Ibbetson and appointment of Parker subject to confirmation, Parker was definitely in post by 1783.